Skip to Content
Due to a recent surge in pediatric RSV and flu, we are allowing only visitors 18 years of age and older in our general inpatient (hospital) settings at this time for the safety of our patients, in line with Illinois Department of Public Health guidance. Read More


The Division of Emergency Medicine is dedicated to excellent patient care and bedside clinical teaching for a variety of learners. We have been training Emergency Medicine residents for over 30 years and have earned numerous awards for excellence in resident training and mentorship.

Morris Kharasch, MD had garnered a reputation as a consummate teacher with the McGaw Medical Center at Northwestern Residency in Emergency Medicine during his service to the residency and in 2009, the program renamed their annual attending emergency medicine teaching award to "The Morris S. Kharasch Award for Teaching Excellence."

Ernest Wang, MD has carried on the tradition of excellence in residency education with the "Attending Physician of the Year Award" awarded to him in 2010 by the University of Chicago Emergency Medicine Residency.

Timothy Heilenbach, MD and John Flaherty, MD, MPH have also won numerous teaching awards over our many years of participation in residency training.

Over the past decade, we have become one of the premier training sites for medical students as well. In 2010, Richard Aronwald, MD was honored as the "Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award" by the 2010 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Student Class.