NorthShore University HealthSystem, located in Chicago’s northern suburbs, is an academic healthcare system comprised of seven entities. The system includes four hospitals - Evanston, Glenbrook, Highland Park and Skokie Hospitals. As an integrated delivery system, the Corporation also includes NorthShore University HealthSystem Medical Group, Research Institute, and Foundation. Evanston Hospital is a specialty institution, featuring a strong oncology program through the Kellogg Cancer Center, medical genetics, high-risk maternity, a neonatal intensive care unit, and other strong specialty programs in addition to primary care. The pathology training program is centered at Evanston Hospital. Most staff physicians have teaching appointments at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, and approximately 300 medical students spend part of their clerkships at Evanston Hospital every year.

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine is located on the first floor of the Searle Diagnostics amd Treatment Building of Evanston Hospital in 32,500 square feet of space.  The laboratories were revamped in 2004 with an automated Core Lab established. The Glenbrook,  Highland Park and Skokie Hospital laboratories are available for rotation in the final year of residency for those who wish to experience a community hospital environment.